Did Australia Sign the Kyoto Agreement

As a professional, it is important to ensure that articles are optimized for search engines while still providing accurate and informative content. One commonly searched question is “did Australia sign the Kyoto agreement?” Here`s what you need to know.

The Kyoto Protocol is an international agreement that was established in 1997 with the goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions to combat global climate change. The agreement was signed by 192 countries, including Australia, who signed on to the agreement on December 11, 1997.

However, in 2007, Australia withdrew from the Kyoto Protocol under Prime Minister John Howard`s government. The decision was widely criticized by environmental groups and other countries, as Australia was one of the world`s largest emitters of greenhouse gases.

Australia`s withdrawal from the Kyoto Protocol led to a significant decline in the country`s international reputation on environmental issues. However, in 2012, under Prime Minister Julia Gillard`s government, Australia ratified the second phase of the Kyoto Protocol, committing the country to reducing emissions by 5% below 2000 levels by 2020.

Despite this commitment, Australia`s current government has been criticized for its lack of action on climate change and its decision to invest in fossil fuels rather than renewable energy sources. The country has also faced backlash for its weak emissions targets and reluctance to take strong action on reducing its carbon footprint.

In conclusion, while Australia did initially sign the Kyoto Protocol in 1997, the country withdrew from the agreement in 2007 before ratifying the second phase of the agreement in 2012. However, Australia`s actions on climate change continue to be a subject of controversy and debate.